Photo courtesy of the artist

10:00am – 12:00pm
Tuesdays & Thursdays, September 4, 2018 – February 28, 2019
$12 / $14

Classes are $14 each. Discount available with class card purchase.

Eden's Expressway

537 Broadway 4th Fl New York, NY 10012

Loading map...
Map it
Spring St.
Prince St.
Broadway-Lafayette

  • Class will not be held on November 11, December 25, 27 and January 1.

Klein Technique™ allows movers of all kinds and levels to achieve more fluidity and ease of movement. The depth to which an individual explores the work in class can be as simple as learning to stretch safely and releasing unnecessary tension. Class can also expand one's range of motion/movement, increase their technical facility, and help to learn from and heal an injury. The work deepens body awareness, and in turn expands creativity and expression. Class offers time—the time to work, to process, to simply learn to be.

Klein Technique™ works at the level of the bone, the simplest and deepest structure in the body to work with clarity, imagery, and energy. Working on this level allows us to drop in under the layers of muscle which holds us in set postural configurations. The work we do in class focuses on deep connections of support and movement: Freeing the legs and spine, connecting the pelvis to the legs, and connecting the upper body to the lower, and the skull to the feet.

We work on grounded-ness by first standing the pelvis on top of the legs so we can be upright, aligned to the forces of gravity. Building on this principle, we explore the deep muscles of postural support—the hamstrings (sitz bones to the heels), the external rotators, the psoas and the tail to pubic bone/tail to heels. Throughout the class we interweave theory and physical practice where we welcome everyone learning at their own pace.

Joanna Kotze will sub for Barbara Mahler on Oct 18. Wally Cardona will sub for Barbara Mahler on Oct 23, 25, 30. Please see our class calendar for the most recent updates.


Upcoming Classes

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 1 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 6 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 8 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 13 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 15 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 20 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 27 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 29 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Dec 4 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Dec 6 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Dec 11 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Dec 13 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Dec 18 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Dec 20 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 3 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 8 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 10 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 15 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 17 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 22 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 24 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 29 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 31 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 5 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 7 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 12 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 14 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 19 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 21 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 26 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 28 10:00am - 12:00pm
26 additional events

Related Faculty

Barbara Mahler

Barbara Mahler is an active and long-standing member of the NYC dance community as a choreographer, performer, movement educator, and body worker. Currently an ongoing faculty member with Movement Research (2005-present), she continues in the ou...
READ MORE