Become a Friend

Join a dynamic group of supporters in building the future of Movement Research! The Friends of Movement Research program engages the individuals of our diverse moving community in a collective giving effort. Movement Research celebrates its community of Friends with seasonal performance parties and social events that you won't want to miss. You'll get a special serenade courtesy of some surprise guests...

Find a Giving Level that's right for you
  • All donations are tax-deductible
  • Checks can be made out to Movement Research and mailed to: Movement Research, 55 Avenue C, New York, NY 10009
  • Upon completion of your contribution, someone from MR will be in touch on delivery of your benefits!
  • Questions? Contact tarasheena [at]

Every Spring, the Movement Research extended family gathers to celebrate our past, present and future at our Annual Gala.

Learn More

Movement Research Swag

Amazon Smile

Select Movement Research as your charity and Amazon will donate 0.5% of your purchase to support our programs.

Learn More


Movement Research gratefully acknowledges public support from the National Endowment for the Arts (a federal agency); the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council as well as City Council Member Rosie Mendez; and Materials for the Arts (a program of NYC Department of Cultural Affairs, NYC Department of Sanitation, and NYC Department of Education). Movement Research also gratefully acknowledges the generous contributions of private support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation; Asian Cultural Council; Davis/Dauray Family Fund; Emma A. Sheafer Charitable Trust; Harkness Foundation for Dance; Howard Gilman Foundation; James E. Robison Foundation; Jerome Foundation 50th Anniversary Grant; Mertz Gilmore Foundation; Metabolic Studio; New York Community Trust Edward & Sally Van Lier Fund; Trust for Mutual Understanding; Valentine Perry Snyder Fund; from MRX partner Konstnärsnämnden/The Swedish Arts Grants Committee; and from all of the dear Friends of Movement Research, who contribute financial support, labor and love.

Thanks always to the clergy, staff and congregation of Judson Church; Judson continues to be a beacon for free spirits in the arts and politics and a leader among progressive faith communities in the city and nation for over 100 years. Enormous gratitude to Frances Alenikoff (1920-2012), founder of Eden's Expressway, and to her daughter Francesca Rheannon and family, for their continuing belief in the mission of Movement Research and for keeping alive Frances' spirited example of what lifelong artistry is. Special thanks to Abrons Arts Center, Danspace Project, and Gibney Dance Center for their ongoing partnerships; and to East Village Dance Project and GOH Productions, owners and operators of Avenue C Studio.

Friends of Movement Research

Thanks to all of the dear Friends of Movement Research, who contribute financial support, labor and love. As of January 18, 2016, thanks to the following Friends:

Bruce Allardice

Jonathan Aubrey

Linda Austin & Jeff Forbes

Arthur Aviles

Sherrie Barr & Philip M. Lewin

Margot Bassett & Kristen Bohley

Jodi Bender

Laurie Berg

Karen Bernard

Susan Bernofsky

Zena Bibler

Cristiane Bouger

Michelle Boulé

Art Bridgman & Myrna Packer

Rebecca Brooks & Bianca Grimshaw

Andrew Bryan

Marsi Burns

Amy Cassello

Peggy Cheng

Janey Clancy

Jaime S. Coan

Aidan Connolly

Kimberleigh Costanzo

Nicholas Croft

Diana Crum

Ross Cuff & Milka Djordevich

Katy Dammers

Kyle deCamp

Charles Dennis

Annie Dorsen

Eleanor Dubinsky

Dan Duro

Ursula Eagly & Will Cohen

Bob Eisen

Rima Fand

David Fanger & Martin Wechsler

Emily Faulkner

Simone Forti

Sarah Gamble & Christopher Neville

Vallejo Gantner

Paul Gill

John K. Glenn

Naomi Goldberg Haas

Meira Goldberg

Ellen Gould-Silcott

Ruth and Stephen Grant Fund of the Triangle Community Foundation

Sam Green

Neil Greenberg

Steven Grote

Andrea Haenggi

Deborah Hay

Cynthia Hedstrom

David Helbich

Ron Helpman

Theodore Henigson

Keith Hennessy

Rachel Holmes

Sara Juli & Chris Ajemian

Joanna Kotze & Jonathan Allen

Heather Kravas

Marija Krtolica

Phyllis Lamhut

Paul Langland & Colin Cochran

Janice Lee & Stuart Shapiro

Julie Lemberger

Ralph Lemon & Jimena Paz

Abigail Levine

Cara Angela Liguori

Amanda Lopez-Kurtz

Susan F. Lourie

William Lynch

Anne Marien-Gaccois

Claire Marshall

Kyle Marshall

Matthew McQuillan

Risa Mickenberg

Ryutaro Mishima & Kathryn Sanders

Arthur B. Monroe Family Fund

Jennifer Monson

Barbara Moore

Yves Musard

Natalie Neubert

Benny Olk

Vanessa Paige

Annie-B Parson & Paul Lazar

Catherine Pavlov

Lymarie Perez

Jessica Phillips-Fein

Mathew Pokoik

Doug Post

Stan Pressner

Yvonne Rainer

Anna Rogovoy

Sara Rudner

Kourtney Rutherford

Nancy Lee Ruyter

Ace Salvador

Leslie Satin

Karen Sheingold

Denise Shu Mei

Ellynne Skove & Roger Gilchrist

Mardi Strand

Leyya Tawil

Rose Anne & Peter Thom

David Thomson

Laurie Uprichard

Carlo Antonio Villanueva

James Welling

Gwen Welliver

Sasha Welsh

Emily Wexler

Rebecca Wender & Ian Douglas

Katharine B Wolpe

Netta Yerushalmy

Malin Yhr

Henry Yuen

Rishauna Zumberg