10:00am – 12:00pm
Tuesdays & Thursdays, September 17, 2019 – February 27, 2020
$12 / $14

Classes are $14 each. Discount available with class card purchase.

Eden's Expressway

537 Broadway 4th Fl New York, NY 10012

Loading map...
Map it
Spring St.
Prince St.
Broadway-Lafayette

  • There is NO class on November 28, December 24, 26, 31, January 2

Klein Technique™ allows movers of all kinds and levels to achieve more fluidity and ease of movement. The depth to which an individual explores the work in class can be as simple as learning to stretch safely and releasing unnecessary tension. Class can also expand one's range of motion/movement, increase their technical facility, and help to learn from and heal an injury. The work deepens body awareness, and in turn expands creativity and expression. Class offers time—the time to work, to process, to simply learn to be.

Klein Technique™ works at the level of the bone, the simplest and deepest structure in the body to work with clarity, imagery, and energy. Working on this level allows us to drop in under the layers of muscle which holds us in set postural configurations. The work we do in class focuses on deep connections of support and movement: Freeing the legs and spine, connecting the pelvis to the legs, and connecting the upper body to the lower, and the skull to the feet.

We work on grounded-ness by first standing the pelvis on top of the legs so we can be upright, aligned to the forces of gravity. Building on this principle, we explore the deep muscles of postural support—the hamstrings (sitz bones to the heels), the external rotators, the psoas and the tail to pubic bone/tail to heels. Throughout the class we interweave theory and physical practice where we welcome everyone learning at their own pace.

Please continue to check our online class calendar for the most up to date information on subs and cancellations.


Upcoming Classes

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Sep 24 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Sep 26 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Oct 1 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Oct 3 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Oct 8 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Oct 10 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Oct 15 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Oct 17 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Oct 22 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Oct 24 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Oct 29 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Oct 31 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 5 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 7 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 12 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 14 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 19 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Nov 21 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Nov 26 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Dec 3 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Dec 5 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Dec 10 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Dec 12 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Dec 17 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Dec 19 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 7 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 9 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 14 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 16 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 21 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 23 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Jan 28 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Jan 30 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 4 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 6 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 11 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 13 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 18 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 20 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue Feb 25 10:00am - 12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Thu Feb 27 10:00am - 12:00pm
36 additional events

Related Faculty

Barbara Mahler

Barbara Mahler is an active and long-standing member of the NYC dance community as a choreographer, performer, movement educator, and body worker. Currently an ongoing faculty member with Movement Research (2005-present), she continues in the ou...
READ MORE