Our low-cost, ongoing, drop-in classes and workshops are led by established, progressive dance artists, frequently those seminal in the contemporary field of movement and other arts disciplines, which attract local, national and international students.

View Faculty See the calendar for a full listing of upcoming events
  • Check the location of your class!
  • Payment by cash or check at the door
  • Classes are $14 each, except where noted
  • Discounts available with class card purchases

Our Classes


Morning Classes

Daily morning classes are held at 10am and led by a rotating roster of Movement Research faculty. All classes $14. MR Class Cards are applicable.


Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Kyle Marshall
Wed Feb 26 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Jennifer Nugent
Tue & Thu, Feb 27 – Mar 26 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Lindsey Dietz Marchant
Mon, Mar 2 – Mar 9 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Leah Ives
Wed Mar 4 10:00am–11:30am

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

TBA
Wed, Mar 11 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Molly Lieber
Fri Mar 13 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Francisco Córdova
Mon & Fri, Mar 16 – Mar 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Joanna Kotze
Tue & Thu, Mar 17 – Mar 19 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Joanna Kotze
Mon Mar 30 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Joanna Kotze
Tue Mar 31 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Stacy Spence
Wed Apr 1 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Jasmine Hearn
Tue & Thu, Apr 2 – Apr 30 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Jon Kinzel
Mon & Fri, Apr 3 – Apr 17 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Kimberly Fulmer
Wed, Apr 8 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Molly Lieber
Fri Apr 24 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Patrick McGrath
Wed, Apr 29 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Lindsey Dietz Marchant
Mon, May 4 – May 18 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

luciana achugar
Fri, May 8 – Jun 19 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Jennifer Nugent
Tue & Thu, May 12 – May 21 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Kyle Marshall
Wed May 13 10:00am–11:30am

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Vicky Shick
Wed, May 20 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Vicky Shick
Tue & Thu, May 26 – Jun 30 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Molly Lieber
Mon Jun 1 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Mariah Maloney
Wed, Jun 10 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Molly Lieber
Fri Jun 26 10:00am–12:00pm
44 additional events

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Movement Research partners with the Trisha Brown Dance Company to host weekly Company Class taught by a rotating cast of former company members. See Morning Class section above for current schedule.


Physical Inquiry and Somatic Practices

A series of ongoing, weekly drop-in classes based in a variety of modalities and body practices, designed to expand one’s understanding and efficient use of the body. Classes are suitable for professional dancers and non-dancers alike and are held throughout the year at Agnes Varis Performing Arts Center through a partnership with Gibney Dance, and at the historic Eden’s Expressway, and at Movement Research's new home at 150 First Avenue. All classes $14 unless otherwise noted. MR Class Cards are applicable at Eden's Expressway, and MR, 122CC only.


Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue & Thu, Sep 17 – Feb 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Klein™/Barre

Barbara Mahler
Fri, Sep 20 – Feb 28 10:00am–12:00pm

Witchcraft - a Corporeal Practice

iele paloumpis
Thu, Sep 26 – Feb 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy®

Jaime Ortega
Wed, Jan 8 – Feb 26 10:00am–12:00pm

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Emma Fitzsimmons
Tue, Jan 28 – Mar 10 2:00pm–3:15pm

Feldenkrais®

Antonio Ramos
Wed, Feb 5 – Feb 26 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Fabio Tavares
Wed, Feb 5 – Feb 26 2:00pm–4:00pm

Releasing Technique

Julie Mayo
Mon, Mar 2 – Mar 23 10:00am–12:00pm

BodyMind Dancing™

Martha Eddy
Mon, Mar 2 – Jun 29 6:30pm–7:45pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue & Thu, Mar 3 – Aug 20 10:00am–12:00pm

Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy®

Jaime Ortega
Wed, Mar 4 – Jun 24 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Rebecca Davis
Wed, Mar 4 – Mar 25 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Sarah White-Ayón
Wed, Mar 4 – Mar 25 2:00pm–4:00pm

Witchcraft - a Corporeal Practice

iele paloumpis
Thu, Mar 5 – May 7 10:00am–12:00pm

Klein™/Barre

Barbara Mahler
Fri, Mar 6 – Aug 21 10:00am–12:00pm

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Mariusz Kujawski
Tue Mar 17 2:00pm–3:15pm

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Emma Fitzsimmons
Tue, Mar 24 – Apr 21 2:00pm–3:15pm

Releasing Technique

Yvonne Meier
Mon, Mar 30 – Apr 6 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Tasha Taylor
Wed, Apr 1 – Apr 29 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Emily Faulkner
Wed, Apr 1 – Apr 29 2:00pm–4:00pm

Releasing Technique

Julie Mayo
Mon, Apr 13 – Apr 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Mariusz Kujawski
Tue, Apr 28 – May 5 2:00pm–3:15pm

Releasing Technique

Yvonne Meier
Mon, May 4 – Jun 29 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Antonio Ramos
Wed, May 6 – May 27 12:30pm–2:00pm

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Emma Fitzsimmons
Tue, May 12 – May 26 2:00pm–3:15pm

Feldenkrais®

Rebecca Davis
Wed, Jun 3 – Jun 24 12:30pm–2:00pm

Releasing Technique

Julie Mayo
Mon Jun 8 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Tasha Taylor
Wed, Jul 1 – Jul 29 12:30pm–2:00pm
44 additional events

Improvisational Forms

Movement Research hosts a variety of classes in improvisational forms. Weekly Contact Improvisation classes take place in the evenings at Eden's Expressway and Gibney Dance 280 Broadway. The Underscore, developed by Nancy Stark Smith, is held monthly at Eden's Expressway on every second Sunday and led by a rotating roster of Underscore Facilitators. On Saturday mornings, K.J. Holmes leads Athletics of Intimacy, which explores dancing through the improvisational lenses of somatics, contact improvisation, and perceptual composition.


The Athletics of Intimacy

Johanna S. Meyer
Sat, Feb 1 – Feb 29 11:00am–1:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Feb 5 – Feb 26 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Chisa Hidaka
Thu, Feb 6 – Feb 27 6:00pm–8:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Carly Czach
Wed, Mar 4 – Mar 25 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Tim O'Donnell
Thu, Mar 5 – Mar 26 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Athletics of Intimacy

Johanna S. Meyer
Sat, Mar 7 – May 16 11:00am–1:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Mar 8 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Mar 22 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Apr 1 – Apr 29 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Gabrielle Revlock
Thu, Apr 2 – Apr 30 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Apr 12 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Apr 26 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Gabrielle Revlock
Wed, May 6 – May 27 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Elise Knudson
Thu, May 7 – Jun 25 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun May 10 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun May 24 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Jun 3 – Jun 24 6:30pm–8:30pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Jun 14 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Jun 28 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Chisa Hidaka
Wed, Jul 1 – Jul 29 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Carly Czach
Thu, Jul 2 – Aug 27 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Jul 12 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Jul 26 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Aug 9 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Aug 23 2:00pm–6:00pm
30 additional events

Janet Panetta Ballet for Contemporary Dancers

Janet Panetta teaches Ballet for Contemporary Dancers four days a week ongoing. She has trained dancers in many of the major American companies such as American Ballet Theatre, New York City Ballet, Paul Taylor, Merce Cunningham, Trisha Brown, as well as many European companies such as ROSAS and Pina Bausch.

Ballet for Contemporary Dancers

Janet Panetta
Mon, Tue, Thu & Fri, Sep 2 – Feb 28 12:00pm–2:00pm

Ballet for Contemporary Dancers

Janet Panetta
Mon, Tue, Thu & Fri, Mar 30 – Aug 31 12:00pm–2:00pm

Our Workshops


Workshops

Workshops assist the pursuit of deeper levels of exploration into new dance processes, techniques, and ways of thinking and working, for faculty and students alike. Workshops are scheduled during MELT (Summer and Winter Intensives), in conjunction with the Movement Research Festival and at various times throughout the year.


Channels

Justin Cabrillos
Fri, Feb 7 – Mar 6 10:00am–12:00pm

The Sounding Body: Voice as Movement

Peter Sciscioli
Wed, Feb 26 – Mar 11 6:30pm–8:30pm

Shifting Concepts: from Poem to Body

Yoshiko Chuma
Mar 4 – Mar 6 7:00pm–10:00pm

Knowing and not Knowing

Meg Stuart
Mar 12 – Mar 14 3:00pm–6:00pm

Secret Journey: Rove

Yoshiko Chuma, Francisco Córdova
12:30pm–5:30pm

The Sounding Body: Full and Empty

Samita Sinha
Wed, Mar 25 – Apr 8 6:30pm–8:30pm

The Sounding Body: Speaking in Tongues

mayfield brooks
Wed, Apr 15 – Apr 29 6:30pm–8:30pm

Workshopping Perilously Efficient Movement

Deborah Hay
Apr 27 – May 1 10:00am–1:00pm
8 additional events

MELT


Winter MELT 2020

January 6-24, 2020

Registration opens Tuesday, October 29.
EARLYBIRD discounts available through November 15 at 8pm.

About MELT: Movement Research’s Winter and Summer intensives featuring the most innovative teachers and creators in dance today. Workshops include technique, composition, somatic practices, and improvisation as well as non-studio topics like lighting design, reading groups, and “movie” nights.

Learn more about MELT

Our classes and workshops are located in a variety of studio spaces across New York.