Our low-cost, ongoing, drop-in classes and workshops are led by established, progressive dance artists, frequently those seminal in the contemporary field of movement and other arts disciplines, which attract local, national and international students.

View Faculty See the calendar for a full listing of upcoming events
  • Check the location of your class!
  • Payment by cash or check at the door
  • Classes are $14 each, except where noted
  • Discounts available with class card purchases

Our Classes


Morning Classes

Daily morning classes are held at 10am and led by a rotating roster of Movement Research faculty. All classes $14. MR Class Cards are applicable.


Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Cecily Campbell
Wed, Sep 4 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Joanna Kotze
Mon & Fri, Sep 13 – Sep 20 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Lindsey Dietz Marchant
Tue & Thu, Sep 17 – Sep 19 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Jasmine Hearn
Mon & Fri, Sep 23 – Sep 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Joanna Kotze
Tue Sep 24 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Lani Nahele
Wed Sep 25 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

mayfield brooks
Thu Sep 26 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

mayfield brooks
Mon Sep 30 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Vicky Shick
Tue, Oct 1 – Nov 19 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Kimberly Fulmer
Wed, Oct 2 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Jennifer Nugent
Thu, Oct 3 – Nov 21 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Jon Kinzel
Fri, Oct 4 – Oct 25 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

luciana achugar
Mon, Oct 7 – Oct 28 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Patrick McGrath
Wed, Oct 16 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

mayfield brooks
Fri Nov 1 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

John Jasperse
Mon, Nov 4 – Dec 16 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Oluwadamilare Ayorinde
10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Lindsey Dietz Marchant
Fri, Nov 8 – Nov 22 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Kyle Marshall
Wed Nov 13 10:00am–11:30am

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Jamie Scott
Wed, Dec 4 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Kayvon Pourazar
Tue & Thu, Dec 10 – Dec 12 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

mayfield brooks
Fri, Dec 13 – Dec 20 10:00am–12:00pm
34 additional events

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Movement Research partners with the Trisha Brown Dance Company to host weekly Company Class taught by a rotating cast of former company members. See Morning Class section above for current schedule.


Physical Inquiry and Somatic Practices

A series of ongoing, weekly drop-in classes based in a variety of modalities and body practices, designed to expand one’s understanding and efficient use of the body. Classes are suitable for professional dancers and non-dancers alike and are held throughout the year at Agnes Varis Performing Arts Center through a partnership with Gibney Dance, and at the historic Eden’s Expressway, and at Movement Research's new home at 150 First Avenue. All classes $14 unless otherwise noted. MR Class Cards are applicable at Eden's Expressway, and MR, 122CC only.


Witchcraft - a Corporeal Practice

iele paloumpis
Thu, Sep 5 – Feb 27 10:00am–12:00pm

BodyMind Dancing™

Martha Eddy
Mon, Sep 9 – Feb 24 10:30am–11:45am

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Johanna S. Meyer
Tue, Sep 10 – Jan 28 2:00pm–3:15pm

Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy®

Jen Harmon
Wed, Sep 11 – Sep 25 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Rebecca Davis
Wed, Sep 11 – Sep 25 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Alice MacDonald
Wed, Sep 11 – Sep 25 2:00pm–4:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue & Thu, Sep 17 – Feb 27 10:00am–12:00pm

[SUB] Alexander Technique

Lydia Chrisman
Wed Sep 18 2:00pm–4:00pm

Klein™/Barre

Barbara Mahler
Fri, Sep 20 – Feb 28 10:00am–12:00pm

Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy®

Jaime Ortega
Wed, Oct 2 – Nov 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Tasha Taylor
Wed, Oct 2 – Oct 30 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Fabio Tavares
Wed, Oct 2 – Oct 30 2:00pm–4:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Rebecca Davis
Wed, Nov 6 – Nov 20 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Clare Maxwell
Wed, Nov 6 – Nov 20 2:00pm–4:00pm

Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy®

Jen Harmon
Wed, Dec 4 – Dec 18 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Antonio Ramos
Wed, Dec 4 – Dec 18 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Clare Maxwell
Wed, Dec 4 – Dec 18 2:00pm–4:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Tasha Taylor
Wed, Jan 8 – Jan 29 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Alice MacDonald
Wed, Jan 8 – Jan 29 2:00pm–4:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Antonio Ramos
Wed, Feb 5 – Feb 26 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Fabio Tavares
Wed, Feb 5 – Feb 26 2:00pm–4:00pm
37 additional events

Improvisational Forms

Movement Research hosts a variety of classes in improvisational forms. Weekly Contact Improvisation classes take place in the evenings at Eden's Expressway and Gibney Dance 280 Broadway. The Underscore, developed by Nancy Stark Smith, is held monthly at Eden's Expressway on every second Sunday and led by a rotating roster of Underscore Facilitators. On Saturday mornings, K.J. Holmes leads Athletics of Intimacy, which explores dancing through the improvisational lenses of somatics, contact improvisation, and perceptual composition.


Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Sep 11 – Sep 25 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Chisa Hidaka
Thu, Sep 12 – Sep 26 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Athletics of Intimacy

K.J. Holmes
Sat, Sep 14 – Feb 29 11:00am–1:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Sep 22 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Chisa Hidaka
Wed, Oct 2 – Oct 30 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Chisa Hidaka
Thu Oct 3 6:00pm–8:00pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

TBA
Thu, Oct 10 – Oct 31 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Oct 13 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Oct 27 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Elise Knudson
Wed, Nov 6 – Nov 27 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Tim O'Donnell
Thu, Nov 7 – Nov 21 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Nov 10 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Nov 24 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Dec 4 – Dec 18 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Carly Czach
Thu, Dec 5 – Dec 19 6:00pm–8:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Dec 8 2:00pm–6:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators, Lucy Mahler
Sun Dec 22 2:00pm–6:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Carly Czach
Wed, Jan 8 – Jan 29 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Elise Knudson
Thu, Jan 9 – Jan 30 6:00pm–8:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Feb 5 – Feb 26 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Funda Gul
Thu, Feb 6 – Feb 27 6:00pm–8:00pm
26 additional events

Janet Panetta Ballet for Contemporary Dancers

Janet Panetta teaches Ballet for Contemporary Dancers four days a week ongoing. She has trained dancers in many of the major American companies such as American Ballet Theatre, New York City Ballet, Paul Taylor, Merce Cunningham, Trisha Brown, as well as many European companies such as ROSAS and Pina Bausch.

Ballet for Contemporary Dancers

Janet Panetta
Mon, Tue, Thu & Fri, Sep 2 – Feb 28 12:00pm–2:00pm

Our Workshops


Workshops

Workshops assist the pursuit of deeper levels of exploration into new dance processes, techniques, and ways of thinking and working, for faculty and students alike. Workshops are scheduled during MELT (Summer and Winter Intensives), in conjunction with the Movement Research Festival and at various times throughout the year.

The Sounding Body: Mouth to the Sea

Tatyana Tenenbaum
Wed, Sep 11 6:30pm–8:30pm

The Sounding Body: EMBODYING ANCESTRY, EMBODYING SOUND

Pyeng Threadgill
Sat Sep 21 2:00pm–5:00pm

Six Viewpoints Workshop

Mary Overlie
Tue Sep 24 6:30pm–9:30pm

The Sounding Body: Speaking in Tongues

mayfield brooks
Wed, Oct 2 6:30pm–8:30pm

Modes of Embodiment: An Expressive Toolkit for Chronically Ill + Disabled Bodies

Yo-Yo Lin, Pelenakeke (Keke) Brown, Lara Marcin
Sun, Oct 6 – Nov 10 12:00pm–4:00pm

The Sounding Body: Voicing Coexistence

Anaïs Maviel
Sat Oct 12 1:00pm–4:00pm

The Sounding Body: Vibration and Creation

Marisa Michelson
Wed, Oct 23 – Nov 13 6:30pm–8:30pm

Breathing: Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy® Workshop

Lise Brenner, Jen Harmon, Jaime Ortega
Nov 2 11:00am–3:00pm

The Sounding Body: Voice as Movement

Peter Sciscioli
Sat Nov 9 2:00pm–5:00pm

embodiment and sound

Jasmine Hearn and slowdanger
Nov 20 – Nov 22 10:00am–1:00pm
8 additional events

MELT


Summer MELT 2019

July 8-August 9,2019

About MELT: Movement Research’s Winter and Summer intensives featuring the most innovative teachers and creators in dance today. Workshops include technique, composition, somatic practices, and improvisation as well as non-studio topics like lighting design, reading groups, and “movie” nights.

Learn more about MELT

Our classes and workshops are located in a variety of studio spaces across New York.