Our low-cost, ongoing, drop-in classes and workshops are led by established, progressive dance artists, frequently those seminal in the contemporary field of movement and other arts disciplines, which attract local, national and international students.

View Faculty See the calendar for a full listing of upcoming events
  • Check the location of your class!
  • Payment by cash or check at the door
  • Classes are $14 each, except where noted
  • Discounts available with class card purchases

Our Classes


Morning Classes

Daily morning classes are held at 10am and led by a rotating roster of Movement Research faculty. All classes $14. MR Class Cards are applicable.


Morning Class

Molly Lieber
Tue & Thu, Feb 13 – Mar 1 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Jennifer Nugent
Fri, Feb 16 – Mar 23 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Mina Nishimura
Mon, Feb 19 – Mar 5 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Vicky Shick
Wed, Feb 28 – Mar 14 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Huiwang Zhang
Fri Mar 2 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Mina Nishimura
Tue & Thu, Mar 6 – Mar 8 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

luciana achugar
Mon, Mar 12 – May 21 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

John Jasperse
Tue & Thu, Mar 13 – Mar 15 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Lindsey Dietz Marchant
Tue & Thu, Mar 20 – Mar 22 10:00am–12:00pm

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Trisha Brown Dance Company
Wed, Mar 21 – Jun 30 10:00am–11:30am

Morning Class

Jon Kinzel
Fri, Mar 30 – Apr 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Lindsey Dietz Marchant
Tue & Thu, Apr 3 – Apr 5 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Michelle Boulé
Tue & Thu, Apr 10 – Apr 26 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Kai Kleinbard
Fri, May 4 – May 25 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Kayvon Pourazar
Tue & Thu, May 8 – May 24 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Vicky Shick
Tue & Thu, May 29 – Jun 28 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

John Jasperse
Mon & Fri, Jun 1 – Jun 15 10:00am–12:00pm

Morning Class

Joanna Kotze
Mon & Fri, Jun 18 – Jun 29 10:00am–12:00pm
23 additional events

Trisha Brown Dance Company Class

Movement Research partners with the Trisha Brown Dance Company to host weekly Company Class taught by a rotating cast of former company members. See Morning Class section above for current schedule.


Physical Inquiry and Somatic Practices

A series of ongoing, weekly drop-in classes based in a variety of modalities and body practices, designed to expand one’s understanding and efficient use of the body. Classes are suitable for professional dancers and non-dancers alike and are held throughout the year at Agnes Varis Performing Arts Center through a partnership with Gibney Dance, and at the historic Eden’s Expressway and Randy Warshaw Studios. All classes $14 unless otherwise noted. MR Class Cards are applicable at Eden's Expressway, and Randy Warshaw Studio only.


Klein™ Technique – for movers of all kinds

Barbara Mahler
Tue & Thu, Sep 7 – Mar 1 10:00am–12:00pm

Qi Gong

Laurel Atwell
Mon, Sep 11 – Feb 26 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Antonio Ramos
Wed, Jan 3 – Feb 28 12:30pm–2:00pm

Body, Mind and Image

K.J. Holmes
Wed, Jan 24 – May 9 4:00pm–6:00pm

Witchcraft – a Corporeal Practice

iele paloumpis
Thu, Feb 1 – Aug 30 10:00am–12:00pm

Klein™/Barre: Klein Technique™ as related to dance

Barbara Mahler
Fri, Feb 2 – Aug 17 10:00am–12:00pm

BodyMind Dancing™

Martha Eddy
Mon, Feb 5 – Jun 18 6:15pm–7:30pm

Pilates Mat Class for Dancers

Johanna S. Meyer
Tue, Feb 6 – Aug 29 2:00pm–3:15pm

Topf Technique/Dynamic Anatomy®

Jaime Ortega
Wed, Feb 7 – Aug 29 10:00am–12:00pm

Alexander Technique

Sarah White-Ayón
Wed, Feb 7 – Feb 28 2:00pm–4:00pm

Qi Gong + Meditation with WellMan

Laurel Atwell, Tess Dworman
Mon, Mar 5 – Aug 27 10:00am–12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Barbara Mahler
Tue & Thu, Mar 6 – Aug 16 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Tasha Taylor
Wed, Mar 7 – Apr 25 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Emily Faulkner
Wed, Mar 7 – Mar 14 2:00pm–4:00pm

Alexander Technique

Sarah White-Ayón
Wed, Mar 21 – Mar 28 2:00pm–4:00pm

Klein™/Barre: Klein Technique™ as related to dance

Jessica Winograd
Fri, Mar 30 – Apr 6 10:00am–12:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Wally Cardona
Tue Apr 3 10:00am–12:00pm

Alexander Technique

Emily Faulkner
Wed, Apr 4 – May 30 2:00pm–4:00pm

Alexander Technique

Emily Faulkner
Wed, Apr 4 – May 30 2:00pm–4:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Lesley Satin
Thu Apr 5 10:00am–12:00pm

Feldenkrais®

Rebecca Davis
Wed, May 2 – Jun 27 12:30pm–2:00pm

Alexander Technique

Rachel Bernsen
Wed, Jun 6 – Jul 25 2:00pm–4:00pm

Klein Technique™/Stretch and Placement

Joanna Kotze
Tue & Thu, Jun 19 – Jun 28 10:00am–12:00pm
39 additional events

Improvisational Forms

Movement Research hosts a variety of classes in improvisational forms. Weekly Contact Improvisation classes take place in the evenings at Eden's Expressway and Gibney Dance 280 Broadway. The Underscore, developed by Nancy Stark Smith, is held monthly at Eden's Expressway on every second Sunday and led by a rotating roster of Underscore Facilitators. On Saturday mornings, K.J. Holmes leads Athletics of Intimacy, which explores dancing through the improvisational lenses of somatics, contact improvisation, and perceptual composition.


Contact Improvisation

Tim O'Donnell
Wed, Feb 7 – Feb 28 6:30pm–8:30pm

The Athletics of Intimacy

K.J. Holmes
Sat, Feb 10 – May 12 11:00am–1:00pm

The Underscore

Underscore Facilitators
2:30pm–5:30pm

Contact Improvisation

Carly Czach
Wed, Mar 7 – Mar 28 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Bradley Teal Ellis
Thu, Mar 8 – Mar 29 6:00pm–8:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Sarah Konner
Wed, Apr 4 – Apr 25 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Tim O'Donnell
Thu, May 3 – Jun 28 6:00pm–8:00pm

Contact Improvisation

Elise Knudson
Wed, May 16 – May 30 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation

Carly Czach
Wed, Jun 6 – Jun 27 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation

Bradley Teal Ellis
Wed, Jul 11 – Jul 25 6:30pm–8:30pm

Contact Improvisation - The Basics

Bradley Teal Ellis
Thu, Aug 2 – Aug 30 6:00pm–8:00pm
12 additional events

Sunday Process Labs

Sunday Process Labs are a series of three-hour, low-cost sessions on Sunday afternoons, providing an opportunity for a substantive peer exchange in a lab-type setting. Sessions are facilitated by movement-based artists who share their individual creative practices and process. Currently on hiatus as of Fall 2017.


Janet Panetta Ballet for Contemporary Dancers

Janet Panetta teaches Ballet for Contemporary Dancers four days a week ongoing. She has trained dancers in many of the major American companies such as American Ballet Theatre, New York City Ballet, Paul Taylor, Merce Cunningham, Trisha Brown, as well as many European companies such as ROSAS and Pina Bausch.

Our Workshops


Workshops

Workshops assist the pursuit of deeper levels of exploration into new dance processes, techniques, and ways of thinking and working, for faculty and students alike. Workshops are scheduled during MELT (Summer and Winter Intensives), in conjunction with the Movement Research Festival and at various times throughout the year.

The Sounding Body: The Embodied Voice

Pyeng Threadgill
Wed, Feb 28 – Mar 14 6:30pm–8:30pm

The Sounding Body: Gills & Bellows

Tatyana Tenenbaum
Wed, Mar 21 – Apr 4 6:30pm–8:30pm

The Sounding Body: Voice As Movement

Peter Sciscioli
Wed, Apr 11 – Apr 25 6:30pm–8:30pm

Tendings

The Olimpias
Apr 21 – Apr 22 11:00am–4:00pm

Dancing magic and politics

Keith Hennessy
Mon, Tue & Wed, May 21 – May 23 10:00am–2:00pm

The Edge is a Field

Deborah Hay
Jun 7 – Jun 8 6:00pm–9:00pm
2 additional events

MELT


MELT

Movement Research’s Winter and Summer intensives featuring the most innovative teachers and creators in dance today. Workshops include technique, composition, somatic practices, and improvisation as well as non-studio topics like lighting design, reading groups, and “movie” nights.

Learn more about MELT

Our classes and workshops are located in a variety of studio spaces across New York.