Movement Research is one of the world's leading laboratories for the investigation of dance and movement-based forms. Valuing the individual artist, their creative process and their vital role within society, Movement Research is dedicated to the creation and implementation of free and low-cost programs that nurture and instigate discourse and experimentation. Movement Research strives to reflect the cultural, political and economic diversity of its moving community, including artists and audiences alike.

Strategic Plan

This three year Strategic Plan establishes goals from Movement Research in Fiscal Years 2008-2010. The plan was developed over a three-year period by the Board of Directors under the direction of former Executive Director Carla Peterson (2002-2006).  A draft of the plan was written in summer 2006 by Peterson and staff.  The plan was finalized and published in summer 2007 under Executive Director Barbara Bryan.

Available Downloads
Movement Research's Annual Report
Movement Research Timeline
Organizational Chart

Job Opportunities

Movement Research accepts internship applications on an ongoing basis. Read more here.

Board of Directors

Ishmael Houston-Jones

(2003-2012; July 2013 – present) Writer; Curator; Performer and Choreographer

Carla Peterson

(2002-2011; Sept 2012 – present) Director, Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography

Steve Staso

(2005-2013; September 2014 – present) Filmmaker; Visual artist; Dance enthusiast

Michèle Steinwald

(March 2013 – present) Independent dance curator and presenter; Community Engagement Consultant, The Cowles Center

Edisa Weeks

(July 2016 – present) Assistant Professor of Dance, Queens College; Choreographer

Dana Whitco

(May 2013 – present) Director, Tisch Initiative for Creative Research, NYU

Guy Yarden


(1989-91; 1995-97; 2003-2014; 2015 – present) Composer and Administrator



Advisory Boards

Artists of Color Council (AoCC)

Artist Advisory Council

niv Acosta

Laurie Berg

Walter Dundervill

Alex Escalante

Marjani Forté-Saunders

Danielle Goldman

Joe Levasseur

Mariangela Lopez

Melanie Maar

Jennifer Miller

Jill Sigman

Kathy Westwater

Advisory Board

Wendell Beavers

David Dorfman

Simone Forti

Cynthia Hedstrom

Bill T. Jones

Daniel Lepkoff

Mary Overlie

Steve Paxton

Yvonne Rainer

Jim Staley